So many words. Not enough paper in this world. Don't hurt the trees over me.

My Inspiration

I just want to take this post to dedicate it to the person who single handedly inspired me to write once again, the babe, Crystal.

I’ve been writing for years now, and as time went by I think I have gotten progressively better. However, bad past relationships pretty much robbed me dry of happiness and the emotion it actually takes for me to write successfully. I was at the point where I decided to leave poetry alone because everything was so empty. Nothing had substance at all. I could rap bars of the most insignificant garbage, but that’s not what I enjoy. That’s not where my heart is.

Then she came along. I met her in class at John Jay College of Criminal Justice. She sat two seats over from me and I would constantly stare at her in admiration, acting like I was looking out the window whenever she looked in my direction. The smoothest opening line known to man left my mouth,

This class starts at 3:35 right?

Ingenious! Yet, here we are today.

Over the past 5 months of our relationship we’ve had our ups and downs all over. We fight harder for each other than I see some couples fight who have been together for years. Notice I said fight for, not fight against! Trust me, we fight each other as well, we’re not perfect, but we definitely put in the most work on fighting side by side, not face to face.

Through it all, I’ve rediscovered who I used to be. She gives me this feeling that I haven’t had for years. That feeling that everyone says you never feel again after your first love. I testify, they were wrong.

She gave me a new lease on life emotionally and I’m forever thankful. There’s so much more I could type here, but if you follow my poetry, you’ll get the picture deep enough.

This post, I dedicate to you baby. For everything you’ve done. From talking, to listening, to putting me back where I need to be when I veer off course. For doing in this relationship what some people don’t do for the people they’ve been married to for years.

Thank you baby. I love you with all my heart. Head to toe. Inside and out.

Comments on: "My Inspiration" (6)

  1. Aww how cute. This is how I feel about my bf. He brings out the best in me and I like to think I bring out the best in him too. I am glad you found happiness because your writing is very good!!

  2. Cherish Crystal, she’s special. And don’t ever take that for granted and keep showing it and letting her know!

  3. awwwwwww =] every girl needs a guy like you

Leave a Reply

