So many words. Not enough paper in this world. Don't hurt the trees over me.

Call Me McGuyver

Thanks to this lukewarm brain of mine I was able to McGuyver my way into fixing my BlackBerry trackball. Plenty have attempted to clean and have failed in the face of adversity, but not I. This is my story.

Martin Luther King had a dream. Langston Hughes had a dream deferred. I however, had a vision that one day I would be able to pwn on this stupid trackball and show it who’s boss. That day came today.

For those of you who don’t know, I am a moderator for a site called BlackBerry Empire where we try to be the best and close knit BlackBerry community out. The other day I was shooting an app review video when my trackball acted up. You can view the video here if you’re on your mobile phone or check the embedded video below.

Note: Fast forward to the 5:00 minute mark for after-credit part.

Anyway, the point is that it messed up then, got better, which I threw in after the video credits, and then messed up again just now. That’s when my inner McGuyver kicked in. I grabbed a nail clipper and took out the little blade-like part that no one ever uses (or maybe that’s just me since I really don’t have bad feet and don’t need hooks to get gunk which is gross) because they don’t know what the hell its intended purpose is.

Above are jpegs of the process. Simple as hell. Lift, blow. Perverts! When you blow inside the panel or use a can of compressed air, all the dust will fly out of the phone, especially in the trackball area, freeing up your trackball if it wouldn’t move in any direction (one or at all). That 30 second task saves a lot of hassle. No calls to your service provider, no 45 minutes wasted with tech support, no purchasing of new equipment. The McGuyver way.

Now if only I had a toothpick and a rambunctious puppy, I could build myself a Honda Civic.

Peace.

Comments on: "Call Me McGuyver" (2)

  1. Justice Wordlaw said:

    Great post. I like this a lot man :)

Leave a Reply

